Guest Blog Post on J.A. Konrath’s site by Silas Payton:

image

Today is a special day for me. Joe Konrath has posted a guest post by me on his site. What makes this special for me, as some of you may already know, is that Joe Konrath holds a special place in my heart. I started following his blog in 2011 once I read a number of his books, and was hooked from day one. I have since read almost every word the man has published. The inspiration and motivation from him on his blog and from the comments generated by his followers, led me to give this fiction writing a try. He and his wife were the first people to read my writing after my wife and oldest son, after which he offered me a chance to collaborate with him…seriously! On my first book! His life became too busy, and that book turned into White Lady, in his Kindle Worlds.

It is very fitting that this blog post is on writers working together to cross-promote. I owe Joe Konrath so much for introducing me to this wonderful world of writing. To him, and his wife, I say… Thank-you.

Here’s the beginning of the post. Please click over to Joe’s blog to read the rest.

The F-word Authors Should Learn from Rap Music

Hip hop or rap has done extremely well in the past twenty years and I would argue it is largely because of the F-word. Fans want the F-word, plain and simple, and I’m willing to bet this holds true with writing just as much as with rap music. I would argue one of the factors in the success of rap is the F-word… Featuring. It’s seen after the title of many, many hip hop songs, used to highlight a guest performer. Many music artists have worked together in the past, but no other music genre has done it so effectively. Writers would do well to learn from this strategy. In this post I highlight some rap examples of this success and discuss ways we can apply this technique to writing.

When someone starts listening to a particular rapper, it’s not long before they have a list of other rappers they also want to check out. Fans quickly become aware of other artists similar to, or liked by, their new star. When they are looking for something else to listen to, guess where they are going to turn.

Rappers seem to enjoy promoting each other. Not only do rappers collaborate on songs and show up to each other’s concerts, but often other performers will be mentioned in a song without even being featured in it. The only benefit is to raise awareness. Perhaps it’s from the roots or history of rap, I’m not sure. What I do know is rappers take cross-promotion to a whole new level.

Find the rest here:
http://jakonrath.blogspot.ca/2016/01/guest-post-by-silas-payton.html

One thought on “Guest Blog Post on J.A. Konrath’s site by Silas Payton:

Comments are closed.