A Behind-the-Scenes Look at my Thriller Going Under (available FREE June 25-29)

Going Under: A Bill Roberts Thriller

Going Under: A Bill Roberts Thriller


A Behind-the-Scenes Look at my Thriller Going Under (available FREE June 25-29)

To coincide with the Free Giveaway of my thriller Going Under, which runs June 25-29, 2015, I thought I’d put down a few points about the book that nobody knows. Think of this as an extra, or author’s behind-the-scenes look at how this story came about. There are no spoilers.

Going Under is a thriller about a Police Inspector in Toronto named Bill Roberts. It is the first of three Bill Roberts books I’ve written, although the other two are in the Jack Daniels and Associates Kindle World of J.A. Konrath and can be found on my author page. They are all thrillers laced with humour and a light hearted edge.

I’ve been asked before if the character Bill was written about myself. Although, Bill was not written as a vision of me, I think we all have some traits in common with our main characters. In particular, Bill’s sarcasm and dry humour come from me. I also know a number of police officers, and have heard a lot about the joking and behind-the-scenes humour that goes on as a way of coping with stressful situations. I tried to bring this out in the book, in a tasteful, and realistic way.

I’ve heard it said that you have to be careful what you do and say around writers, as it may end up in a book. There is a scene in this book, about Bill working out in a gym that was so unbelievable and funny, readers may find to a little far fetched. I can’t possibly take credit for making this scene up. It is taken directly from a close friend who did this very thing. I almost died choking when I heard the story. You have to read it to believe it.

I originally wrote this book in the midst of the media frenzy surrounding the Mayor of Toronto at the time. Unfortunately for him, his real life story went from bad to much worse with a diagnosis of cancer. Although I never mentioned him by name, I sure poked fun at him in the book. Out of respect to him and his family, I took a lot out and toned it down during the editing process. Regardless of his politic mistakes, my heart goes out to him as he goes through this battle.

It’s funny how books come about. Although Going Under was my first book published and time-wise, happens before the other two, it was actually my second to write. My original book idea was to write a Young Adult story involving Bill’s kids. I got about six chapters in when J.A. Konrath put out an offer to collaborate. To see the writing quality and style, he wanted a short story involving a mix of his characters and ours and I didn’t quite feel my YA characters would work with his thriller stories. Instead, I took the small supporting role of their father and created Bill Roberts, the main character for my three books, with more to come. The short story was accepted, and although other projects have gotten in the way, I put it into Konrath’s Kindle Worlds. I still hope to collaborate with him someday down the road. Unfortunately, Kindle Worlds books are only available on amazon.com at present. My two YA characters, Sam and Patrick, do make a small appearance in the book. I hope to revisit their YA stories soon.

The ending is my favourite part of this book. I don’t want to give anything away, but I put a lot of thought into how I wanted this story to end. In fact, I didn’t know how it would end until I was almost done. In the book writing world, we have what’s been called Plotters, those who plan and outline everything, and Pantsers, those who freestyle it. I’m somewhere in the middle. I like to plan ahead a little, to help flow and organization, but I don’t plan the ending until I’m almost through. Once I get to know the characters, the story, and get a feel of the emotions of a story, the ending comes together. You will love the ending of Going Under. There is a small hint somewhere early in the book.

If you’ve downloaded this book because of the giveaway, I hope you crack it open (digitally, anyway) and enjoy the read. I’d love to hear from you with any feedback, and if you’d be so kind as to post a review, I’d appreciate it greatly.

Silas Payton

I would appreciate any sharing.

One thought on “A Behind-the-Scenes Look at my Thriller Going Under (available FREE June 25-29)

Comments are closed.