An update on Going Under and other projects coming in 2015.

Going Under: A Bill Roberts Thriller

I had high hopes of having Going Under done in the summer of 2014. Unfortunately, a lot of my energy was needed elsewhere — in my more-than-full-time career/business. I was left with little extra time to devote to publishing. I also underestimated the time involved to properly edit a book. Although, my first book wasn’t published when I had hoped, I have learned a lot in the past year about writing and self-publishing, and as a result, I am confident the finished result will be much better.

Going Under: A Bill Roberts Thriller is currently at the proofreader, and I’ve hired a designer to do the cover. I anticipate it will be available in the next month or two on Amazon.

I have learned that, for me, the easiest and most fun part of writing a book is the first draft. I enjoy the writing process…seeing where the story will take me, and getting to know my characters better. One of the best parts of writing the first draft is that I can fit it in when I’m able. Half hour here and there, or more time if I have it. Even when I am extremely busy with other aspects of life, I can usually fit in some writing. For me, it’s a way to relax…even better than reading an exciting book.

I have also discovered that I don’t really enjoy taking the time to figure out some of the other aspects of publishing such as creating book covers, and formatting. As such, I’ve opted to get help with these. I must admit, I lost a lot of time putting off decisions because I didn’t feel I knew enough about these things. I read a lot about it, tried learning some photo editing, and tried reading how to format. I have concluded…I’d rather be writing.

Other Projects:

In the past year, I’ve been working on a project involving one of my favourite authors. There is an almost finalized short story, and a novel I’m doing the second pass on now, both of which involve Bill Roberts from Going Under. I hope to be able to announce more details about this project in the next couple months.

I’ve also just finished the first draft of a horror novel. This book will keep you up at night, and make you question everything you think you know about good and evil. It gave me chills while writing it.

Watch for more on these upcoming projects in 2015.

Silas Payton

